Tags

, , , , , ,

I am amazed how well this block turned out. I don’t know why I was so afraid that this particular block wouldn’t. It was not the easiest block so far, but it was by no means the hardest. Maybe it was because I wanted this block to be particularly exact.

Storm Signal

© 2012 by Heike Scharmann

When browsing for other quilters’ examples, I realised that this block looks best when using very clear colours in the centre. I came across one example where the outer parts were very dark, and I liked this one too, but then decided to use the darkest shade in the centre in order to gain as much contrast as possible.

This block will be one of the “losers” when turning it on point in the end (when assembling the quilt top). It looks best when looked at as shown in the picture above. I had some losers so far, but rather minor ones: Windmill, Waste Not, and Tall Pine Tree. For other blocks, it doesn’t really matter which way you look at them. And of course there were several gainers so far, which only work when turning them on point: Tulip, Temperance Tree, and Strawberry Basket.

