Tags

, , , , ,

I like this block very much—partly because I like roses so much, and partly because you can easily discover the rosebuds in this block pattern.

Rosebud

© 2012 by Heike Scharmann

As always, I did some research before starting this block, and I was quite shocked at how many “bad” examples I found (see some on my Pinterest board “Farmer’s wife”).

Many quilters used more than two different fabrics, some even four or five which makes it very hard or impossible to see any rosebuds. In some examples you could only discern a big pinwheel, in some the three little half square triangles above the buds were stressed. Choice of fabric is so important! It can really change a block into something quite different.

I just couldn’t help but use the white print with the little roses as a background, although I don’t like such obvious hints too well …

I did a quick photo-shooting in our garden with the roses that are blooming right now.

Crown Princess Margarethe © 2012 by hs

.

from the former owner, don’t know the name © 2012 by hs

.

Eden Rose 85 © 2012 by hs

.

I forgot the name © 2012 by hs

.

The Fairy © 2012 by hs

.

Heritage © 2012 by hs

.

from the former owner, don’t know the name © 2012 by hs

.

Millennium © 2012 by hs

.

Souvenir de la Malmaison © 2012 by hs

.

