Tags

, , , , , ,

My favourite quilting store is closing down – the Patchworkstatt (a German pun, combining the words Patchwork and Werkstatt = workshop). That is a sad sad business. And it is not only because there is no store equaling her’s anywhere near but also because I liked her and her staff so much. She had the best selection of fabric (for my taste, anyway), the cutest little shop jam-packed with the most beautiful odds and ends. Always an inspiration just to visit, and I always got good advice if I needed it.

October 30 is to be the last day but the shop looked half empty today already. And she doesn’t even advertise it. I heard it from a friend of my mother’s.

(c) 2014 by hs

(c) 2014 by hs

Usually, I am not the type to hoard a lot of fabric. My stash is comparatively small. And I don’t like to go to sales too much. But with this shop, it’s different. That is to say, when I filled my shopping basket this morning, and I selected fabrics for no specific quilt as I usually do, I didn’t so much buy these things because they were on sale but rather because I knew I wouldn’t get them anymore in a few days.

Now I have a moderate stock at home, fabric for three quilt tops, and I am excited to start the first one, using the first jelly roll I ever bought, and these old but never used white pillowcases.

(c) 2014 by hs

(c) 2014 by hs

.

