Tags

, , , , , , , ,

(c) 2014 by hs

(c) 2014 by hs

Okay, I admit it. I am not a fan of precuts. First of all, I always suspect that I get less fabric for more money if I buy precut fabric. Someone has to do the cutting, and if I don’t do it I surely must pay somebody else.

Then I can be rather picky. Can I really live with this one ugly print in the otherwise lovely charm pack? Why of all prints are there two strips of just this fabric in the jelly roll? Are all strips really exactly 2.5 inches wide?

So I never really bothered too much about precuts. If I saw any in a quilt shop I gave them the cold shoulder and inspected the shelves with the bolts instead. Picking fabric and deciding which match best is so much fun indeed! Why cheat me out of it?

(c) 2014 by hs

(c) 2014 by hs

But then the day came when I gave up my reservation and I did it: I bought my first jelly roll. (I know well that you might laugh at me now having yourself used so many precuts already but that’s okay of course.) Beside the luxury of having less cutting work before me, I certainly enjoyed the fact that all the prints of one design range lay before me now.

Uncoiling my bundle, I found that there were some prints even lovelier than I had thought, and some a little less than I had expected. But still, they all matched perfectly well. And it is no secret that this one ugly print in a quilt will make the whole piece just perfect—and even more, if it weren’t in it the quilt might be rather dull.

To speed things up even more, I opted for a very simple pattern, just squares and strips (and yes, I had to cut the precuts to the exact width of 2.5 inches).

(c) 2014 by hs

(c) 2014 by hs

I am quite satisfied with the result, a baby quilt made of a jelly roll and two white pillowcases (old but never used). The top came together in a breeze—not my usual approach either. I rather like a slow and elaborate pattern. But I like this fast quilt nevertheless, and who knows … whose baby might crawl on it someday? I sandwiched it right away and put it aside to quilt on some of these long dark winter days that are sure to come. Then I started right away with the next, a small scale pattern with Christmas prints but I will write of that later …

