Tags

, ,

Years ago, I sewed a Magic Cube, and some time ago I found it again and decided to make another one, or two. It is a toy (not only for children, it can be very relaxing to fold it over and over again) consisting of eight square-cut cubes (foamed material). It has six sides like any cube, so you need six different fabrics. This time, I chose prints suitable for children—leftovers from my jelly role baby quilt.

(c) 2014 by hs

(c) 2014 by hs

It is fun to fold and re-fold the cube. I admit, it’s a bit hard to describe, and I am not sure if the pictures help to explain. You can fold it to a perfect square, or flat, or something in between. And no matter how you fold it, the sides with matching fabric will always meet.

(c) 2014 by hs

(c) 2014 by hs

But it was definitely no fun to sew it. I didn’t remember at all how hard it is! Of course, you have to stick to a strict plan because it is very important which fabric goes to which side. The hand sewing was nothing to me, but the eight cubes always wanted to get away, I pricked myself constantly, and some of the fabric corners didn’t want to meet.

(c) 2014 by hs

(c) 2014 by hs

The pattern said you should baste the pieces of fabric to paper, like with English paper piecing. I didn’t, but now I am beginning to think that having some sharp edges would have made things easier. Well, maybe next time.

(c) 2014 by hs

(c) 2014 by hs

