Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I am longing to start a new quilt. I have decided on the pattern (triangles only, which I wanted to do for ages). I have bought the fabric (it sits in a neat stack in my fabric cabinet). The only thing is—I already have begun a new quilt, back in October. And I want and must and will finish it before I start this new one. I only just now realised that I haven’t posted a single shot of this project.

New York Beauty centre (c) 2015 by hs

New York Beauty centre (c) 2015 by hs

It is a medallion quilt. I started out with these New York Beauty blocks. I thought that maybe I would do a New York Beauty quilt. But I must own (nothing new though) that these were really tough ones. By the fourth I was glad that I had gone so far and resolved to do something other than a whole quilt.

New York Beauty medallion quilt (c) 2015 by hs

New York Beauty medallion quilt (c) 2015 by hs

That’s when I had the idea of doing a medallion quilt. First thing I did was setting the New York Beauty blocks on point and I am glad I did. It adds a little something to the centre blocks (not that this centre consisting of about 100 pieces and 20 different prints needed any something).

New York Beauty medallion quilt, Flying Geese border (c) 2015 by hs

New York Beauty medallion quilt, Flying Geese border (c) 2015 by hs

I added a Flying Geese border and am now stuck. I know that I want to have one more border but I just can’t decide on a pattern. Appliquéd leaves? Pieced pin wheels? Hard decision …

