Tags

, , , , , , , ,

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

When I’m hand quilting a large quilt, as I am doing now, I usually sit on my sofa, silently working and letting my mind wander, or listening to music or watching TV—or rather listening TV, only glancing at it once in a while. Quilting doesn’t take up my whole concentration and so it’s easy to listen or talk additionally. I have some favourite movies that I love to watch while quilting. In fact, I have seen them so many times over that I don’t really need to watch them. And I always know when to look up and follow a favourite scene with my whole attention.

When I’m hand quilting a large quilt, I always like to put it down for an evening or merely an hour and sit at my sewing machine. Piecing a new project, small or big.

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

Piccadilly Circus is one of these small projects that I love to squeeze in. I bought the pattern by thimble blossoms some time ago and only recently found a charm pack with cheerful prints to try it out with.

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

On the whole, it’s “merely” a Dresden Plate. But the chief attraction is that each slice is previously patched up of four different fabrics. I only did one block so far and pinned it to my wall. I have yet to decide what do with it. Maybe finish it up as a mini quilt, or add some borders or other blocks. We’ll see.

