Tags

, , , , , , ,

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

(My) Creativity needs constant input. Else it wouldn’t function, it seems. Like a wild beast that you keep as a pet, and which you must constantly feed or it would die. And the more you feed it the better shape it’s in.

But unlike feeding a wild beast, feeding my creativity is easy. There are so many sources from where to start. Going to a museum and looking at paintings or sculptures that are “speaking” to me. Reading a book and discovering strong similarities of one character to my own life. Browsing the internet and finding texts or pictures that ignite a thought in me. Passing by a graffiti in a foreign city.

There doesn’t have to be always a big “woah” moment. But it’s rather a silent and flowing process. Sometimes, I have to stumble upon a picture or a thought several times before it gets me thinking.

It was the latter case with doodles. Lori Kennedy who is blogging at The Inbox Jaunt acquainted me with this topic. (Doodles are simple drawings made while not giving your whole attention to the subject.) In the quilting world, they can be helpful when developing a quilt pattern for example.

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

I’ve not yet tried doodling—at least not quilt-related (while doing my favourite tendril doodle regularly in business meetings). But I was hooked enough to buy me a colouring book for adults (didn’t even know they existed until recently). There I have a great number of geometrical patterns that I can work myself through with my crayons. I am sure I will get them out next time I feel a little bit lacking inspiration and then I’ll see what happens.

