Tags

, , , , , , , ,

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

I made a magic cube years and years ago. And thought it would be fun to do another which I did. But it was no fun at all. I had a hard time matching the sides and the corners in particular, pricking myself constantly.

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

A work mate of mine very much liked my first magic cube. Initially I brought it to work in order to show it especially to him because he had designed a similar kind of folding cube for one of our clients as a giveaway. He was decently impressed that a child’s toy version of “his” cube existed and so it stayed on in my office and we all are constantly playing with it. What he never liked, though, was my choice of fabrics. After he repeatedly complained about this, I resolved to make him a cube of his own—in his colours. Which is easy, because he is fan of the soccer club Eintracht Frankfurt. Their colours are black, white, and red, and if he would be in authority there would be no other colours in the world.

His birthday slowly nearing, I somewhat reluctantly sat out to get it over with. But this time I resolved to put some time into basting the fabric pieces on paper first. And that was doing the trick!

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

The cube came together in no time. Well, not exactly, because there are plenty of seams to be done. But it felt like no time at all. I had no difficulty at all in matching the corners, and pricked myself zero times. I had some fear of forgetting to pull out the paper in time but I constantly checked before sewing if this side would be the last of this fabric square and so all went well.

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

I am excessively pleased with the result and hope that he will be, too.

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

