Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

A winter or even christmas quilt I am currently working on is Checkered Star. I found the free pattern at McCall’s Quilting. The original quilt was a vintage piece probably started about 1900 and finished in third generation in the 1940s.

I did my version in the blue and grey fabrics I purchased when my favourite quilting store closed last year.

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

For some time, it was a nice in between project. Whenever I had some free minutes at hand I sat down at my sewing machine and whipped up a twenty-five-patch block or a sawtooth star block. Most of the time, I sewed one of each.

Although I had plenty of fabric I tried to give the blocks a scrappy look. Especially for the twenty-five-patch blocks I often used different light grey/white prints in one block. Here is a not so scrappy one—though I used different dark blue prints.

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

After finishing Lincoln’s Logs, however, I pushed on the whole project and sewed nothing but sawtooth stars and twenty-five-patches. I calculated how many blocks I needed (I wanted to make a slightly smaller quilt than the pattern suggested) and kept record: 32 stars and 31 twenty-five-patch blocks.

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

Now the quilt top is finished, waiting to be quilted. But I guess it will have to wait some time, because I have so many other projects in mind (using my new reproduction fabric) that I so much want to do first. Here is a picture of the quilt layout on my “design wall“, i.e. my bed.

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

