Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

Second in a (hopefully) long row (to be) of reproduction quilts is He’s My Star. Pattern by Carole Hopkins. I used “Cinnamon Catherine“ mostly, interspersed with a few scraps from my stash.

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

The quilt consists of a big sawtooth star and four smaller ones, …

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

… and many many half-square-triangles (192 to be exact). Carrying a bunch of them on my ruler from the ironing board back to my sewing table:

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

Carole suggested to mix in a few half-square-triangle units in an altogether different colour which I think was a perfectly good idea. It adds some interest and saves the quilt from being dull. For my quilt, this would be blue in between all the brown/rust/orange hues. Block layout before sewing one of the four half-square-triangle blocks:

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

The quilt top measures 32.5 x 32.5 inches. I will add it to my “to be quilted“ stack and start the next quilt top while waiting for the batting that I ordered to arrive.

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

