Tags

, , , ,

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

Two of my three mini quilts in reproduction style are finished. Raspberry and Chocolate is intended to be on an exhibition in January, so I finished that one first. It measures 21.5″ square.

Next was He’s My Star. Having some days off work between Christmas and New Year, the quilting was done in no time. This one is 29.5″ square.

(c) 2015 by hs

(c) 2015 by hs

For both quilts, I used a 100% cotton natural batting which I tried for the first time. It is rather low loft, in fact too thin for my taste, but I wanted something fit for hand quilting, allowing me to stitch rather wide apart. Mini quilts like these have much bulk on a comparatively small amount of space, so there are fewer places to put your needle through not more than three layers of fabric/batting. But with such a low loft batting, the hand quilting almost doesn’t show at all—well … Here, the patchwork design is the star, and the quilting only assisting, so it’s still okay.

