Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

(c) 2016 by hs

(c) 2016 by hs

I’ve been participating in my first sew along. Yeah! The Moda Sampler Block Shuffle hosted by the Fat Quarter Shop’s Blog.

I made some slight changes in choice of colours, number of blocks, and quilt block layout. But apart from that, it truely is the same quilt.

Well, the patchwork blocks are truely the same. And the two applique blocks are as well, except that I did not one but six of each. They fill the space between the patched blocks instead of a single piece block.

(c) 2016 by hs

(c) 2016 by hs

I started in January, finished the top without borders then, but it took me until now to quilt and bind it.

(c) 2016 by hs

(c) 2016 by hs

Here are some of my darling blocks:

(c) 2016 by hs

(c) 2016 by hs

Another novelty for me was using a Hera marker for drawing the quilting lines (making marks without a pen). I am so excited about this new (to me) tool and already can’t imagine how I could do without it for so long.

(c) 2016 by hs

(c) 2016 by hs

I hand quilted the blocks with white thread and the border with dark red, and bound it with a cream print. The quilt measures 44 x 52.5 inches.

(c) 2016 by hs

(c) 2016 by hs

