Tags

, , , , , , , ,

maple-leaf-quilt-4

(c) 2017 by hs

Quite a while ago, I bought a fat quarter bundle of modern woodland prints. I liked the colour combination of orange, grey, and white very much. But I always find it rather difficult to choose a quilt pattern for such a limited amount of fabric. I am careful not to add too many other prints from my stash, so the original fabric range is not subdued.

maple-leaf-quilt-1

(c) 2017 by hs

Woodland?—Maple Leaf, was my first thought. And so I began sewing Maple Leaf blocks. I did the math all by myself, and ended up with 9 inch blocks. Just sewing along, and waiting how far the fat quarter bundle would last me.

maple-leaf-quilt-2

(c) 2017 by hs

For the sashing, I wanted a light fabric with a subtle print, and found me this silver/grey dots on white. I held back some of the orange floral print to use as corner stones. And for the back, I bought a very nice grey cotton with light stars.

maple-leaf-quilt-3

(c) 2017 by hs

I hand quilted the piece with white thread. The quilt measures 55.5 x 68 inches, and is now available on etsy.

maple-leaf-quilt-5

(c) 2017 by hs